The One I Was

Summary (from Goodreads):

Restless, troubled Rosamond Hunter has spent most of her life running away from the past, filled with guilt about her involuntary role in her mother’s death. When her nursing job brings her back to Fairfleet, her childhood home, to care for an elderly refugee, she is forced to confront the ghosts that have haunted her for so long.

Her patient, Benny Gault, first came to Fairfleet, England, in 1939, having fled Nazi Germany on a Kindertransport train.

As his health fails, he and Rosamond begin to confide in each other. At first their tentative friendship revolves around the love they both shared for Rosamond’s glamorous grandmother, Harriet, but as their trust in each other grows, guilty secrets are exposed and history is turned on its head.

 

My Thoughts:

 

This was an enjoyable read, although at times it felt disjointed and a bit scattered. Each of the three main plot lines was interesting, but it felt like there were too many branches to each of the stories.  There were also some inconsistencies in editing that I felt like could have been tidied up a bit.  The World War II-era pieces were my favorites and I wish those had been fleshed out and focused on more. I also would have loved to dive a bit deeper into the Kindertransport, which was itself really only mentioned in passing.  I really didn’t get engaged with the pieces that took place during present-day; for some reason that storyline felt much weaker and the writing seemed more loose.

 

How It All Stacked Up:

🌟🌟🌟

An enjoyable read, however, I feel like it will also be a forgettable one for me.

Leave a comment